Loading...
 

Hal Horowitz

Music Columnist

Horowitz is a longtime Creative Loafing columnist who has been writing about the Blues since he began to crawl. His passion for the music has won him numerous prestigious awards for his insightful coverage of the Blues in Atlanta and beyond. A real Hoochie Koochie man, Horowitz's got his mojo workin' — meet him at the crossroads every month online.

Articles By This Writer

Article

Thursday October 28, 2021 01:39 pm EDT
Expect the blues and other surprises, plus Mule-O-Ween | more...

Article

Monday August 2, 2021 10:54 am EDT
Georgia’s long-running roots and blues fest roars back for year 27 | more...

Article

Thursday July 1, 2021 12:50 pm EDT
The Atlanta blues scene returns to (almost) normal with solid support from the Atlanta Blues Society | more...

Article

Wednesday June 2, 2021 06:35 pm EDT
Eddie 9V goes international with his first widely distributed album | more...

Article

Wednesday May 5, 2021 10:15 am EDT
After weathering the worst year in music, Garrett Collins prepares for his next act | more...

Article

Tuesday April 6, 2021 11:54 am EDT
Recent National Heritage Fellow William Bell’s well never runs dry | more...

Article

Monday March 8, 2021 11:28 am EST
Fifty-plus years on the blues fringes hasn’t diminished the Atlanta veteran’s enthusiasm for the music he loves | more...

Article

Monday December 7, 2020 06:21 pm EST
Recapping the last 12 months of uncertainty | more...

Article

Thursday October 22, 2020 12:46 pm EDT
Not just sheltering in place during these uncertain times, the Athens-based musician releases his 12th solo album — and promotes it with a live concert | more...

Article

Thursday October 8, 2020 11:38 am EDT
Singer’s soul and blues keeps audiences smilin’ | more...

Article

Friday September 4, 2020 02:16 pm EDT
Places and names to know to hip your blues cred | more...

Article

Wednesday September 2, 2020 01:22 pm EDT
Even this pandemic can’t stop WRFG’s annual Labor Day Blues throwdown | more...

Article

Wednesday August 5, 2020 06:19 pm EDT
Sandra Hall’s triumphant half century singing blues and soul | more...

Article

Tuesday June 30, 2020 01:34 pm EDT
EG Kight’s ‘Trio Sessions’ keeps her diverse sound lean, never mean | more...

Article

Friday May 1, 2020 12:19 am EDT
Atlanta’s Eddie 9-Volt plugs into his influences on an impressive debut | more...
Search for more by

Tagged In

Article

Saturday March 14, 2009 09:58 pm EDT
CL writer Hal Horowitz was seen in Memphis over the weekend receiving the Keeping the Blues Alive award for Journalism that he won last month. | more...